Monday, September 7

This morning’s ride: 1:58:34 Distance: 24:07 miles Average: 80 RPM

I didn’t want to ride today. I had no desire at all. Instead, shortly after I woke up, I called my friend Mike, and we talked. We talked about politics and life, and–this is important–we talked about ourselves. It’s surprising how few people are really comfortable talking about themselves (and listening to others talk about themselves) but Mike’s one of those people. Mike’s worst days are better than the best days of most folks I know. “Tell you what,” he said, “give me fifteen minutes, and I’ll meet you out on the canal path.” Mike lives about ten miles east of me, so I went east, he went west, and we met up about 6 miles from my place, and rode. Mike is a fairly aggressive rider. As he puts it “I ride faster than just about everyone I know–except you.” Which made me feel good.

So I rode at Mike’s pace, although I believe that he could have gone faster had he wanted to. But he didn’t. Instead, he took me on some roads and trails I hadn’t traveled. Because he’s lived here his entire life, the ride was a bit of a history tour as well. As a result, I had more damn fun on this ride than I’ve had  in months. I realized that my focus had been primarily on cadence and shifting techniques and breathing and exertion and my freaking gracilis and just about everything other than how much fun it can be to ride a bike. Today, while riding with Mike, I had fun.

After he went back to his house, I still had ten miles to go to get home. I rode it at around 20 MPH most of the way. Nothing hurt, nothing went wrong. It was…fun.

By the way, Mike’s 71 years old, and a retired firefighter. He spent much of his life running towards things the rest of us run away from. I want to be like Mike when I grow up.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Mike

     /  September 8, 2009

    I am now going to rewrite this comment again, this time pushing the &#@?&^% comment button. It is bad enough to grow old[let’s not talk about the obvious option], so I see no point in growing up. I heard a firey Baptist minister say, “It’s not that loose you enthusiasm when you get old, but that you get old when you loose your enthusiasm.
    I’ll admit it I haven’t checking you blog lately; riding my bike[more fun], on vacation twice[more fun], a little canoeing[more fun]. I have to post the in the spandex pants made out the America’s Cup sized spinnaker. If I keep that in mind I might forget there are 6 icream stores from Fairport to Pittsford.

    Reply
  2. Finny

     /  September 10, 2009

    Still enjoying your blog Brian. I like reading them in the morning, with my coffee, or last thing at night. They are,simply, a nice part of my day now.

    Reply

Leave a comment